Sign in with
Your question
Closed

How to overclock my Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600?

Last response: in CPUs
December 25, 2011 5:59:02 AM

Hello all!

This is my system:

* Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775

* GIGABYTE GA-G41MT-USB3 LGA 775 Intel G41 USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel.

* G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)

* COOLER MASTER 800w.

* Windows 7 Home 64bit

(CPU)

(Motherboard)

(Power Supply)

(RAMS)

(Similar CPU Heatsink that I have, on bios it usually around 1400's RPM's with 21-25 c unloaded)

(Temps on Windows 7)

I would like to be able to overlock it to max if possible. Any help on this would be much appericated!

Updated: Sorry guys for not providing all the information. I am an amateur when it comes to computer tech.

P.S. Merry Christmas everyone!
a c 185 à CPUs
a b å Intel
December 25, 2011 6:21:33 AM

What cooler? Also there should be options around that area to allow you to overclock.
Score
a c 112 à CPUs
December 25, 2011 6:43:49 AM

although the q66 is a reasonable overclocker for its make they are very finikey about the amount of ram you have... if all 4 ram modules are used they often panic and wont allow any overclocking,
so supplying your specs like motherboard and ram would help also.
also what speeds you hoping to achive... coz 3.0 will be easy enough. 3.6 will take finess 4ghz will take a miracle. (but hey its XMAS ;)  )
Score
Related resources
December 25, 2011 6:46:13 AM

amuffin said:
What cooler? Also there should be options around that area to allow you to overclock.

It one of those cpu mid fan heatsink. Looks like this one but slightly different. On bios it usually around 1400 RPMs for fanwise with 21-25 c.

Also here's a screenshot of the temps with just basic system running with windows 7 which the computer been on since a day ago.

Score
December 25, 2011 7:12:17 AM

HEXiT said: