Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Last minute changes - New build

Last response: in Systems
September 23, 2011 4:05:30 PM

Guys, I wanted to run through the config with more experienced modders (I am a newbie at building), to see if I needed to change anything:

Approximate Purchase Date: This week

Budget Range: 600 Before Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: software development, watching videos, development server, light gaming

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, any software including OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg, tigerdirect, any other site that ships in US

Country of Origin: US

1. LITE-ON DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model iHAS124-04 - OEM
Item #: N82E16827106289
$19.99
2. SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Item #: N82E16822152185
$59.99
3. SAPPHIRE 100338L Radeon HD 6770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
Item #: N82E16814102941
$109.99
4. Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
Item #: N82E16817371031
$69.99
5. G.SKILL Value Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model F3-10600CL9D-8GBNT
Item #: N82E16820231422
$44.99
6. AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX bundled with: 1x ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0
$207
Total cost comes out to be $513, and this does not include the case yet. I want some help about the specs that I have chosen. Could you guys please have a look - does this seems okay?

Additional Comments:
CPU: I was deciding b/w these the X4 955, and X4 965 processors. Both cost essentially the same.
MOBO: Besides the ASUS one I mentioned, I also found this ASROCK processor interesting. Does an ASROCK mobo match upto ASUS?