Sign in with
Your question

Connecting E30000 to another Access point and bridge

Last response: in Wireless Networking
February 12, 2011 7:40:20 AM

Hello,
I have just connected the Linksys E3000 to my cable modem and works well. Now I need to get the wireless signal to the other end of the house. I have a Netgear RangeMax WNR3500 V2 router. Can I set that up as a repeater or Access point from the E3000?
February 12, 2011 11:11:39 PM

Emerald said:
You might have to update you firmware from DD-WRT. It will allow you to use the router as a bridge repeater.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database

Thanks Emerald, as you can see I am a newb! I have had the E3000 for 24 hours and it is running as hot as hell - do you mean I use the update firmware for the Netgear or for the Linksys E3000? Sorry for being so specific, I just don't want to screw up.

I am not impressed with the E3000, the signal strength is weak and no external arial connection. After I have flashed the (E3000 or Netgear) router, are there any step by step instructions that make it clear for a newb to follow to get the netwrok extended. I have spent hours trying to figure it out. I also have Netcomm NP121 device build specificall for this purpose only the instructions do not result in what it is meant to do and there are so many IP addreses and security keys I end up in a real mess.

Thanks
m
l
Related resources
February 13, 2011 2:44:27 AM

Emerald said:
You might have to update you firmware from DD-WRT. It will allow you to use the router as a bridge repeater.

HELP!! I believe I now have a "Brick Wall" between me and the Netgear 3500 v2. I downloaded the Netgear WNR3500 v2 Firmware: Special File for initial flashing dd-wrt.v24-14896_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR3500v2.chk logged into the router, went to update firmware, loaded and waited. The power light went amber and the ethernet port number remained green. And the browser could not reload after the progress bar at the top had completed.