FX 6100 vs Phenom 1055T

waspzz

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2010
Hi.. :D
Im planning to upgrade my CPU. Ive read a couple of reviews and threads regarding these 2 CPUs but im still confuse of what to buy.

First is that both are at the same price range so im just choosing between these two.

Both are 6-core processors but FX6100 has a higher core speed and its a newer technology so im considering it. But ive read some negative review regarding it and on cpubenchmarks.com FX 6100 is ranked 80th and 1055T is just 98th.

Im not an expert on these matter but Im using my pc for gaming and I also want a GPU thats more future-proof.

Also..in this comparisson, is higher core speed better? Cause as I understand some games still cant utilize 6 cores efficiently..

Thanks in advance..

"but FX6100 has a higher core speed and its a newer technology so im considering it" - it has newer tech, but AMD's newer tech is worse than their older tech unfortunately. But I think amuffins statement is not right, the 6100 would probably a little faster than the 1055t, but for gaming specifically the 1055t may have a slight edge due to better per-core per-clock performance, but it does have a low clock speed. Most games dont utillise more than 2-3 or sometimes 4 cores. If you want a fast gaming CPU you should forget AMD cpu's, especially the 6 core models, and go with an intel i5 model. Even the lowest i5 23xx cpu's blow any overclocked amd cpu out the water for gaming. If you already have an AMD motherboard, buy the highest clocked Phenom II x4 you can get your hands on. The 1055 and 6100t both suck big time for games. Also think about the 960T model, it can possibly be unlocked to a 6 core processor, but is a good 4 core processor that overclocks well. But if your not into overclocking, again, get the fastest 4 core phenom II available or core i5 2xxx cpu if your going to be buying a new motherboard.

xaira

Distinguished