How to upgrade old HP Desktop

RandomDudeThatRan

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2011
Hi,

I am looking to upgrade an old HP Pavilion Media Center m8150n, which I've had for about 4 years now. The reason I'm upgrading is because I want to use it as a gaming PC (I don't really want to buy a brand-new one, since this PC is here, so I might as well just use it), and because it's RAM can go up so high, up to 90% after a minute of starting the PC, that it suddenly turns off whenever I play a 3D game like League of Legends (I assume because of the PC overheating) with Game Booster on, without any stuff going on around the background, and with the game's settings to Ultra Low, with the UI extremely small. It's quite frustrating that I can't even play a game with all of that, and still have the RAM going up like there's no tomorrow, which (I assume) results in my PC overheating like crazy, instantly turning off my PC.

I'm a computer newbie, so to speak, as I don't know much about how to upgrade PCs, meaning that I don't actually know what to upgrade my PC with, like, specific parts and what-not (I know that I need to replace the RAM though...). Although, I should be able to learn about these things later on, but not just this moment.

Specs are here, if they are necessary: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01071207&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN#N1610

Everything in the specs are accurate, except the GPU which is now a NVIDIA GeForce 210, which came from repairs since the computer got broken a year ago.

Assuming I had a budget of around $250/300, and assuming that, with a couple hundred bucks, I still wouldn't replace this old PC with a new one, what would you guys recommend getting so I can play games like League of Legends with a good (seemingly great would be nice though) FPS without having the frustration of having the PC shut down on its own due to the RAM going up?