Closed Solved

Need help, brand new 2600$ comp got water on it.

So this is my first build and it was 2600$, yes I went for it all. I finally finished building it yesterday and when I went to go to the bathroom, I flushed and the toilet over flowed and the water went into the vent and down into my room, travelled across the ceiling right onto my desktop =/

Now I need help, I dried it a lot. I cannot see anymore water. After cleaning it and everything I powered it up. The thing is, it powers up then shuts off in a second. The cpu fan spins, the gpu lights up and spins, the fan lights come on, optical drive turns on. Everything turns on is basically what I am saying. I have a feeling it might be the cpu that is damaged. These are my specs:

Mobo: Gigabyte Z68mx-UD2H-B3
Ram: Corsair 2x 4gb Vengance
GPU: Gtx 590
CPU: i5 2500k
PSU: 1200 Watt Cool Master

I do not know if any other specifications are needed. Can anyone help me? I am completely devastated. I am on my winter break and this is basically the only time I get to use it and I can't even use it. Please help ):
9 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about need help brand 2600 comp water
  1. Best answer
    was it on when the water got on it? it sounds like the PSU might be kicking in detecting a short and shutting down to prevent damage.... I would suggest taking it apart completely verifying that you have removed as much liquid as possible... then putting each piece in a bag (individually) filled with rice (rice will absorb moisture) let it sit in the bag of rice for at least 24 hours... reassemble and test it...
  2. slhpss said: