Graphic board and PSU for 990FXA-UD7 mobo?

AnnabellaMoorlord

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2011
Hello,
This is my first build, and I'm trying to gether up needed parts. I have the AMD Phenom II Black Edition (6 core 1100T processor), have the 990FXA-UD7 mobo (specification page link: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3880#sp )I am totally lost on which graphic cards to get hence which psu to get also. I am into some high resolution "casual" games (not action games) and also studying graphic design (defiantly looking to go to 2 monitors or more). I've heard that newer amd processors seem to "like" amd graphic cards better, was looking at amd site and don't know about gaming cards v/s their professional graphic card line (such as the ATI FirePro™ V9800) Was thinking of starting with 1 or 2 graphic cards now and getting 1 or 2 more later (a little confused on the dual slot card set up (does this mean that I can only do 2 cards not 4?) HELP?? and if I can run 4 later it seems that currently there is no power supply to run 4 or more graphic cards right now? (could be miscalculating wattage?)?? Confused?

Four GPUs (i.e. Graphics Processing Units) is the maximum that can be supported by the drivers. Notice that I said GPUs and not cards.

The Radeon HD 6990 for example has two GPUs on one graphics card. You can only run a maximum of two of these cards in CrossFireX mode.

The Radeon HD 6970 for example has only one GPU on the graphics card. You can run up to a maximum of four of these cards in 4-way CrossFireX mode.

Some of the 1200/1250/1300 Watt or greater power supply units are able to power four graphics cards that require two PCI-E power connectors each.

Which graphics design applications are you planning to use?

AnnabellaMoorlord

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2011