Sign in with
Your question

Looking for Gaming Server Hardware

Last response: in Components
December 28, 2011 6:35:47 PM

I currently host a Minecraft server on my personal computer, and it is starting to get cumbersome. I want to take a look at buying an actual server to host it on.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Minecraft, it is very RAM- and CPU-intensive compared to other games. I would like to be able to host up to 40 players at a time (this isn't necessarily a requirement). I'm posting here because I have zero experience with server hardware.

I want to know:

1. What kind of machine, and with what kind of specs would you recommend?
2. Is this even feasible on a ~$500 budget?
3. Is there anything else I should be aware of running a server in my home?

I can provide any other information if needed.

More about : gaming server hardware

December 28, 2011 6:42:43 PM

Can you tolerate the loudness of 1u server boxes?
December 28, 2011 6:52:29 PM

amuffin said:
Can you tolerate the loudness of 1u server boxes?

I don't know. I've heard they're loud. Is it possible for a server to run this game without having the fans constantly in overdrive? Is it a difference of money?
Related resources
December 28, 2011 6:55:15 PM

sheft said:
I don't know. I've heard they're loud. Is it possible for a server to run this game without having the fans constantly in overdrive? Is it a difference of money?

from the place where i can buy servers (weirdstuff.com) they are very cheap, about 100-200 for 4-8 core dual xeons. But let me tell you, they are extremely loud, especially if you want to run multiple of them. They don't come with windows or os installed, but i think you can host a minecraft server off of linux. Try looking for older servers that have xeons in them.
December 28, 2011 7:00:58 PM

amuffin said: