More RAM @ 1600MHzC9 or Less RAM @ 1866MHzC9 or 2133MHzC9

WDakhane

Honorable
Jul 14, 2012
Hi,
I'm getting confused over which Corsair Dominator Platinums to buy from the following
[BTW I know everything about Timings and Speeds but still I want some suggestions from this community]

1]Corsair Dominator Platinum 1600MHzC9 [4 x 8GB]
2]Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866MHzC9 [4 x 4GB]
3]Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133MHzC9 [4 x 4GB]

Here are my (to be) system specs

1]ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe with Single ASUS GeForece GTX 690
OR
1]ASUS P8Z77-V Premium with ASUS GeForece GTX 680 DirectCUII TOP in SLI
2]Corsair AX850 PSU
3]Corsair Obsidian 650D
4]Corsair H100
5]Corsair Force Series GS 240GB with Deluxe MOBO
OR
5]Corsair Neutron Series GTX 240GB with Premium MOBO
6]Intel Core-i7 3770K

I'm building a Mid to High End HTPC as I'm a software developer and I want to play games in 3D with full TXAA or FXAA or atleast 4xMSAA on a single display i.e ASUS VG278H
Also,I want to fill all available memory slots......nothing to be left for future upgrade.
And my budget is approx 410$ max for memory if necessary.

Q: 32GB 1600MHzC9 Dominator Platinum is good enough or 16GB 1866MHzC9/2133MHzC9 Dominator Platinum is better/best?
Every help is appreciated. :)

Solution
^If you want fast storage, look to SSD's instead of Velociraptor drives.
As Raysteng pointed out above. If you are doing a Video Editing type activity that is going to be reading and writing lots of data, your disc speeds are going to be a bigger factor than RAM speeds.

I am also in the camp that more RAM is better than faster RAM.

Though it does get to a point.
On a HTPC, 4GB is plenty. Speed doesn't even really matter.
For gaming , 8GB of 1600Mhz CL9 is all you will need.
For video editing/intensive number crunching, 16GB of 1600Mhz CL9 is standard.
If this machine is going to act like a server or run virtual machines, then 32GB makes more sense.