New 3930k - No CPU cooler. Did i just fry my CPU?

Warhog22

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2011
New 3930k - No CPU cooler. Did i just fry my CPU?
hi all,

I appreciate any help Please

Im a big newb at PC building. Bought a pre-built X79 barbones.

Got it today installed Ram/Gfx card.

Was going to install a easy liquid cooling system for 3930k soon, after i updated bios and made sure system Posted. Or i
would have to return it soon. (30 days)

had to install wireless adaptor to update bios so I started the computer up. Only to install Netgear's Software off CD.

Entered Bios, computer turned off on its own after 2 mins. Again tryed, computer turned off after a few mins.

Booted into WIndows to load Netgear's software. Computer shut off 2/3rds way thru install or 3-5 mins total with power on.

Smelled burning after it shut its self off when i stuck my nose 1 foot from case. Was not to to strong of burning smell... but distinctive.

Opened Case. CPU felt very hot to touch. Would burn my finger if i had keeped it there more than 1-2 seconds. So yea hot!

Im guessing the safety feature was kicking in yea? Is my Motherboard or CPU damaged prolly?

I thought CPU Solutions.com who i bought it from did a 24-hour burn in test. Guess not..

Did i just do a really stupid?

BIOS 703 Asus Rampage IV
16gig Corsair Dominator GT 2133 (not set yet)
1200 high Current Pro Corsair 1200 PSU
Windows 7 64bit
9800GT (waiting for AMD 7970's)
haf-x 942 case

Warhog22

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2011
Ive not tryed turning it back on. U can't even turn on a CPU without cooling it with a device?

Im scared.. Didnt the motherboards "to hot" safety feature save me in time by shutting off computer? I hear if it hits 91C temp it throttles or something..

Is the 3930k fryed or Motherboard fryed. u think?

Thanks for any help..

lemlo

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2010