High Budget IBUYPOWER System

Le Reveur

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2011
Hi, I'm new to Tom's Hardware
I'm a primary console gamer, who has been fascinated by pc gaming for quite some time. I have no experience building computers. I've saved a lot of money, and now have around a 4000$ budget. Since I'm scared that I'll fry my investment, I planned to do a custom build done by iBUYPOWER. Basically what I'm asking is for some advice on a build from their site that'll maximize my gaming settings on the newest games(BF3, ARKHAM CITY, ETC), and hopefully not have to upgrade for a couple of years. I'm definitely a PC gaming noob, so please if all my specs seem overpowered, or overkill, please advise on a smarter, but still very effective configuration.
iBUYPOWER is basically a website that builds custom computers, and you choose your parts etc.
Here is what I plan to order from them.

CASE: CoolerMaster Silencio 550 Gaming Case Black

PROCESSOR: Intel® Core™ i7 990X Processor Extreme Edition (6x 3.46GHz/12MB L3 Cache)

COOLING SYSTEM: Asetek 550LC Liquid CPU Cooling System (Intel)/ ARC Dual Silent High Perfornamce Fan Upgrade (Push-Pull Airflow)

RAM: 12 GB [2 GB X6] DDR3-1600(CORSAIR OR MAJOR BRAND)

GRAPHICS CARD: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590 - 3GB

MOBO: ASUS Sabertooth X58
USB 3.0, SATA 6 Gb/s RAID **iBUYPOWER Recommended**

POWER: 1000 Watt -- CoolerMaster RSA00-AMBAJ3-US

PRIMARY HARD DRIVE: 120 GB Corsair Force Series GT SSD
Read: 555MB/s ; Write: 515MB/s

DATA DRIVE: 1 TB HARD DRIVE -- 32M Cache, 7200 RPM, 6.0Gb/s

COST 3026$

BUDGET 4000$

I plan to play on
-Max settings on current and future games
-1080p display
-Windows 64 bit premium

My biggest concerns are

-Is my cooling sufficient enough to keep system cool for long gameplay.
-I chose the most powerful graphics card, it better to combine two lesser ones in SLI/CROSSFIRE(I have no idea what this is btw)
-I chose the most powerful processor, is it necessary lol?