Zachary_92

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2011
Hi everyone I'm a complete newbie as far as custom/home built systems are concerned, but decided, to build my own desktop pc, after a particularly bad experience with my last laptop (which only worked for 3 months, died, and because I removed the hard drive was told I had voided the warranty :fou: ). Here is my proposed spec:

Case: Coolermaster Cosmos Pure Black silent gaming tower. (RC-1000K-KKN2-GP) ******

Motherboard: Gigabyte G1.killer Guerilla. ******

CPU: Intel Core i7 980 Gulftown 3.33 Ghz 12 MB cache. ******

CPU Cooling: Zalman Reserator 1 V2 (unavailable till mid November, I'm told).

PSU:1000W OCZ-ZX1000W-UN ZX Gold. ******

Monitor: LG W2363D-PF LCD 23 inch Wide 3D Monitor LG W2363D-PF LCD 23 inch 3D Monitor. ******

Fan Controller: Zalman ZM-MFC3 Fan Controller. ******

Graphics: Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590

System RAM: 12GB (3x4GB) Corsair XMS3, DDR3 PC3-10666 (1333) Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 9-9-9-24, 1.5V

SSD (OS): 64GB Crucial RealSSD M4, 2.5" SSD, SATA III - 6Gb/s, MLC-Flash, Read 507MB/s, Write 290MB/s

HDD: 3TB Hitachi 0F12450 Deskstar 7K3000, SATA 6Gb/s, 7200rpm, 64MB Cache, 8ms, NCQ

Optical: LG BH10LS30.AUAR 10x Blu-ray Writer, 16x DVD±R, 8x +RW, 6x -RW, 12x RAM - Retail + Software

I've also bought a complete pc toolkit which has every tool I need supposedly for a new build. An ESD wrist strap. I need a little help with this, there were no instructions supplied with the wrist strap and I've got completely confused when Googling® how to use it, some say leave the PSU plugged in and then connect the crocodile clip to the chassis (will that even work, the case is mostly aluminium as I understand it :??: ), some say NEVER leave the PSU plugged into the wall socket, others say they've never used a wrist strap and had no problems, HELP!! I really don't know what to do about the strap, any help would be gratefully accepted.