Status
Not open for further replies.

maestrogn

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
My computer suddenly slowed WAY down.

Only change is the addition of an NIDIA GeForce GTX 550 TI (slowdown occurred two weeks after installation).

It's taking 6 minutes from power-up to usability and everything is painfully slow after that (when I try to load a second simultaneous program, the machine hangs for sometimes as long as a minute before it will begin to slowly load the other program).

One symptom might be the power-up beeps; here's a graphic representation of what happens when the power is activated

_ _ _ ' '' _/

these symbols equal the following:

_ = a normal post-up beep

spaces = a short time to the next sound

' = high-pitched chirp

_/ = a normal post-up beep and another beep 5 notes higher (forgive me, I'm a musician).

I've looked in the guides and nothing will help me translate that series.

Have done the following:

-- chkdsk /f
-- chkdsk /r
-- defrag
-- switched memory bars in and out
-- seagate diagnosis of the drive

Machine is marginally faster, but not anywhere near it's former standard.

Could I have a bad CPU or UPS? How do I tell which?

Please help.

maestrogn

andy_in_kenya

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2011
Did you install any tools/utilities that came with the graphics card? If so try if unstalling them helps. Have you installed a new antivirus at the same time? Again - try uninstalling or at least disable real time protection temporarily.

Oh, and disconnect the CD/DVD drive temporarily and see if that does the trick.

If all that doesn't help, I'd strongly recommend to back up your hard disk. Then check all wiring for it (SATA cable, power cable) and also the BIOS settings for the disk access (AHCI/IDE/RAID/NATIVE) and if you'd say anything has changed since your initial setup.