Advice on Upgrade for Gaming / Video Editing / Software Development

stuuz

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2009
Hello,

I am considering upgrading my PC and was just looking for a little advice as to what is necessary.

I have been running the same machine for almost 5 years, so figured its about time it had a bit of an upgrade, specs currently:

Intel Q9550 + Corsair H50 water cooler.
Asus P5E-Deluxe (Rampage Formula Bios)
4GB Kingston DDR2 1066MHz
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4870 1GB (Upgraded last week, see below)
2x standard Samsung Spinpoint F1 7200rpm hdd's
OCZ Stealth XTreme 580W / 600W (can't remember off the top of my head if its 580 or 600W)

So basically, it was a decent machine when I bought it, and still is a decent machine, it handles most games I play, albeit at lower settings these days.
However with games like BF3 and MW3 etc etc all approaching, I would like to be able to play them at higher settings again, and it would be nice to speed up my video rendering etc as well.

That being said, I was planning on upgrading to the following CPU, mobo and RAM configuration:

Intel i5 2500k + some form of aftermarket cooler.
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz DDR3
MSI P67 Pro motherboard (can't remember the exact name, but reviews are good and it overclocks the 2500k really nice)

For the graphics card, I had been looking at things like the nVidia GTX 560Ti / 570 or the ATi 6950 1GB / 2GB, but they are around the £240-260 mark, and I just felt that I don't game as much as I used to, and anything above a 6850 was going to be a massive update to my dated 4870.

I had also once planned to add a second 4870 in crossfire, which I did, but donated to my brother about a month later, so I know that if I buy an expensive card, the chances of me ever actually adding a second are slim.