Your question
Solved

First homebuilt rig: Contruction Blog

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
October 4, 2011 8:31:34 AM

Hi everybody, I'm not sure if this is common practice, but I'm building my very first gaming and work rig, and I was supposed to be handling the actual construction with a friend who's a PC technician, however our schedules did not meet and that means I'll be handling the entire process completely on my own.

So in order to both share the eye-candy and experience, as well as benefit from your (the users) vast experience and base of knowledge, I thought i'd photo-document the process and share it on a single thread in bloglike fashion, allowing pretty much anybody to chip in with valuable knowledge and advice.

I promise to provide high quality photographs of pretty much every stage from now on, and please take into consideration that short of installing RAM, i've never done any of this before, but I know how to deal with motorcycle engines and parts, so this shouldn't be that more difficult.

So where to begin..

Chapter 1: Shipment Manifest - What's going under the hood

* The Chasis: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced Full Tower Case with SuperSpeed USB 3.0 - http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Advanced-Tower-Supe...

* The PSU: Corsair Enthusiast Series 850-Watt 80 Plus Bronze Certified Power Supply Compatible with Intel Core i3, i5, i7 and AMD platforms - http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Enthusiast-Certified-Comp...

* The Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K Processor 3.3GHz 6 MB Cache Socket LGA1155 - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004EBUXHQ

* The GPU: 1x MSI Radeon HD 6950 2 GB GDDR5 2DVI/HDMI/2xMini DisplayPort PCI-Express Video Card R6950 TWIN FROZR III PE O, and 1x MSI Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 Twin Frozr II at Crossfire - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004UE1Q7S
http://www.amazon.com/MSI-R6950-Twin-Frozr-II/dp/B005HR...