Sign in with
Your question

TRYING TO UTILIZE DUAL GRAPHICS

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 3, 2011 3:39:36 PM

Hello all,
I am new to the PC gaming arena and have just completed my first build. I have an AMD A8 3850, a HD Readeon 6790, and the Asus F1 A75 Pro.

The system seems to run very well. Crysis defaulted to High settings and was very smooth.

However, I do not if I have enable the cross fire that technology that the guy at Fry's said would be available to me without the need of adding a 2nd card.

Can I do this? If so, how?

If it is not an option, should I consider swapping the 6790 with a 6670?

Thanks

More about : utilize dual graphics

August 3, 2011 4:15:26 PM

In ccc there's an option to turn on crossfire but benchmarks show a decrease in performance in most games, probably due to a driver issue so I would leave it off. But you might also want to take a look at the other options available in ccc.

If you don't know how to get to ccc, right click you desktop>catalyst control center.
m
l
August 3, 2011 7:21:10 PM

k1114 said:
In ccc there's an option to turn on crossfire but benchmarks show a decrease in performance in most games, probably due to a driver issue so I would leave it off. But you might also want to take a look at the other options available in ccc.

If you don't know how to get to ccc, right click you desktop>catalyst control center.

I did not see an option for crossfire in CCC. Does that mean it does not exist for my set-up?
m
l
Related resources
August 3, 2011 7:49:06 PM

Sorry, ya the 6790 can't have dual graphics. 6670 is the highest but would be a downgrade of course.
m
l
August 3, 2011 7:51:35 PM

k1114 said:
Sorry, ya the 6790 can't have dual graphics. 6670 is the highest but would be a downgrade of course.

Thanks. Will I still be able to upgrade to a second card in the future and cross fire them?

Thanks again for the answers.
m
l
August 3, 2011 10:31:05 PM