Sign in with
Your question

FIRST TIME BUILDER - Most for my money

Last response: in Systems
October 6, 2011 6:34:49 PM

I am a first time builder and looking to get the most for my money.

I've been doing research into some parts, for building a standard gaming pc... nothing too fancy.

I've been looking at these parts:

Processor: AMD Athlon II X4 640 Quad-Core Processor 3.0GHz, 2MB L2 cache
Motherboard: Gigabyte M68MT-S2P Skt.AM3, nForce 630a, onboard VGA, PCIe 2.0 x16
RAM: Kingston DDR3-1333MHz (PC3-10600) 8GB kit (4GBx2) Dual Channel
Graphics card: ATI Radeon HD6670...

is there anything wrong with these parts, and with the rest of the parts. will somone guide me in which direction to buy as there is so much choice.

Thanks.

More about : time builder money

October 6, 2011 6:42:59 PM

what is your budget?

the CPU is good, as an entry-level chip.

the motherboard is OLD, basically from 2008 with DDR3 added. NVidia has been out of the chipset market since 2009.

6670 is a low-end card.

What about case, PSU, hard drives, dvd burner?

If you can afford it get a 970 or 990 motherboard. AMD Bulldozer is due out in 6 days, and will be much more powerful...could see price drops on athlon.
October 6, 2011 6:48:00 PM

Theres a thread at the top of the forum about how to ask for advice .

We need to know your budget , and how you intend to use your computer .

Either way the motherboard is junk
Related resources
October 6, 2011 7:11:23 PM

ScrewySqrl said:
what is your budget?

the CPU is good, as an entry-level chip.

the motherboard is OLD, basically from 2008 with DDR3 added. NVidia has been out of the chipset market since 2009.

6670 is a low-end card.

What about case, PSU, hard drives, dvd burner?

If you can afford it get a 970 or 990 motherboard. AMD Bulldozer is due out in 6 days, and will be much more powerful...could see price drops on athlon.

well im only 16, so its as cheap as i can get it! what would you recommend
for the most for my money