Looking to build a new system with AMD parts :)

Kioh

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011
Alright, so I've never built a computer before, but I can say that trying to play TES IV: Oblivion and Fallout 3 isn't the most enjoyable experience when you're running a stock laptop with a singlecore processor you picked up at WalMart. Really, all I want is to be able to play most games on at least Medium settings, preferably high or even max, with a solid framerate of at least 30 without the constant freezes or jitters.

I managed to play through Mass Effect on this computer with a pretty decent framerate (to me, at least.) of around 25-30, with it sometimes dropping to 15 or so when things got intense. I really want to be able to play my games smoothly, even if I have to sacrifice graphics options, but I don't want to spend more than $500.

Furthermore, while the guides on the site are very well-detailed, I can't seem to get focused enough to read through them-- All the information confuses me and then I end up not wanting to be bothered, so, I'm asking the TH members for a little help getting started! :)

Approximate Purchase Date: Somewhere between October and November of this year.

Budget Range: in total, $500 or less, preferably less if I can pull it off.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: general gaming, browsing, music rendering (I use FL Studio to create and export music)

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com and ncix.com (or whatever gives me the most bang for my buck :p)

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: Preferably AMD parts because they tend to be cheaper, and I don't really want the best of the best. Just looking for something that runs better than my current machine and will last me several years.

Overclocking: No.

SLI or Crossfire: No.

Monitor Resolution: 1440x900