CPU_LED Solid Red/Burnt CPU

Dopeland

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011
So heres the deal pretty much, I have never built a computer before or even so much as installed ram or anything like that.

I attempted my first build today and got it to post and all that and installed drivers and such but noticed that the CPU temp was very high (90 @ idle). I looked into it and saw that the stock heatsink I was using wasn't all the way pushed into the motherboard, and was I tried to do this one of the prongs used to mount it in there broke.

So I went down to tigerdirect and picked up a n520.

I installed it the wrong way (oops lol) and all posted well with idle temps sitting at 70

I installed some drivers and such and everest to check my cpu temp

When everst tried to check my CPU temp I got BSOD

I reset the system and was able to make it to bios, where I changed the ram speed to 1600

I put more ram sticks in (I only had 1 stick in the A1 slot) and tried to boot up but got the good old CPU_LED shining a bright solid red with no beeps.

The fans and everything would power up in the case, then everything would shut down, then everything would power back up but no POST.

So theres no doubt there was some wrong done on my part, here are the issues at hand:

CPU was way too hot and now has a nice fat burn mark on it (I think?)
RAM was not on the motherboard's authorized vendor's list (but I was able to post with this and use it for a good hour or two)

What I want to know here is where I went wrong and whether or not I should be worried about more than just CPU damage.

Here are some pics of my CPU:
i72.jpg

i71.jpg

So pretty much I have a new motherboard and new CPU on the way tomorrow, but I want to know if I need both or only 1, or if perhaps I'd need some more stuff.

Here was my build:
Asus sabertooth p67
intel i7-2600k
visiontek radeon 6950
16 gb corsair vengeance kit
Raidmax 1000w psu