New gaming build, $1500-$2000

grandpamasaki

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2009
Approximate Purchase Date: Between October 11th and October 17th

Budget Range: $1500 - $2000 before rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming

Parts Not Required: Mouse, keyboard and OS (I am trying to recover my old mouse and keyboard, but this might not be possible so I am open to any recommendations. I had a Sidewinder X8 and a Merc Stealth and I loved them)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon.com due to taxes (CA resident)

Country of Origin: US

Parts Preferences: by brand or type (e.g.: Intel for CPU and Nvidia for GPU, but I can be convinced otherwise)

Overclocking: Yes (mild, I'm still learning)

SLI or Crossfire: Not yet. I want a single card solution while leaving myself open for SLI later.

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: The goal is to build this rig for BF3, so I can stretch the purchase date a week or so but not by much (no waiting until Q1 2012 for 7xxx series)

CPU
Intel Core i5 2500k

Heatsink
Scythe Mugen 3

Motherboard
Asrock p67 Extreme4

RAM
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) PC3-12800 1600mHz

GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 580 DoubleShot

PSU
Corsair Professional Series HX1050

Case
Silverstone Raven RV03

SSD
Crucial M4 128GB

HDD
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB

DVD drive
Lite-On Lightscribe 24x

Monitor
Asus VH242H 23.6" 1920x1080

Thanks for taking a look! Any suggestions/recommendations are welcome.

Solution
i suggest the pc power and cooling silencer mkII 950w psu. it is all you need to run 2 580's much cheaper and better quality. (see jonnyguru for hx1050 review)

Silverstone Raven RV03. saves you a few $ but gives you as good cooling because of its unique design

lastly change your hdd to the samsung f3 1tb. it is faster and cheaper

for 10$ more you can get a card with better cooling- http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-DoubleShot-Superclocked-Mini-HDMI-015-P3-1587-AR/dp/B004ZEZC6E/ref=sr_1_4?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1318041124&sr=1-4

grandpamasaki