Sign in with
Your question

HTPC or WHS build?

Last response: in Systems
October 8, 2011 2:56:47 AM

Hey guys, I recently started putting my own systems together after about a ten year hiatus. I started off by building myself a pretty solid gaming rig, then one for my girlfriend. I have always liked the prospect of having a home server to share my movies and music throughout the house and elsewhere as well as having a central repository for all my computers.

So here is my dilema obviously the home server option has come a LONG way since the last time I was building but I think the HTPC / NAS combo may suit my needs. I have about $1500 that I am allowing myself to spend on this project.

So what say you current builder community? I am looking for opinions or ideas!

Thanks to all in advance! :) 

More about : htpc whs build

October 8, 2011 3:00:03 AM

mini itx HTPC would be best. It would only cost you less than $500 lol not 1.5k :)  Then again, i have no experience with NAS maybe it would bump the cost to 1.5k :( .
m
l
October 8, 2011 3:01:04 AM

i don't mean to thread hijack here, but I JUST built a HTPC that is exactly what you're looking for. See the link below;
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/322480-31-steelbeast-...

Scroll to the bottom for pics and see if it suits your liking.

Just make sure you network your home with CAT5/6 and have a gigabit router/switch and you're golden
m
l
Related resources
October 8, 2011 3:24:31 AM

Thank you both for the speedy reply and recommendations! I especially appreciate the cost and build shares! Admittedly I have gone a bit overboard with my recent builds, mostly due to the sheer excitement for what is available now compared to 2001!