Sign in with
Your question

CPU Upgrade help

Last response: in CPUs
January 8, 2012 2:41:13 AM

Hello, I plan on upgrading my current CPU in my PC. I have an HP computer that I have modified(New video card, power supply, added an SSD and bought my own case) I'm now looking to upgrade my CPU. The motherboard that the computer came with is a H-RS880-uATX (Aloe). I've read the upgrade information online and my CPU socket type is an AM3 and shows that I can upgrade to a AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core, which is the CPU I want. It currently has an Athlon II x4 CPU inside. So my question is if I buy a new CPU will I just be able to put in the new chip and run my PC, since the chip is supported or will I have to do something in my bios? I'm very new to CPU upgrading and could use all the help I can get. I know how to install the CPU, apply thermal paste and all that jaz. I'm just more concerned about the "after I install it" part. My bios is made by American Megatrends Inc and is currently running version 6.03. I have no clue if there is a new version at all.

More about : cpu upgrade

a b à CPUs
January 8, 2012 3:02:49 AM

You will probably just be able to install the CPU without doing a BIOS update. I just googled a bit and found a BIOS for your board that is version 6.09. If you want you could go through whatever HP's procedure is for updating the BIOS. I couldn't find a BIOS revision requirement on CPUs for that computer so you are probably fine doing it without the BIOS update.

But worst case, you would have to put your old CPU (including the cooler!) in and then do a BIOS update. Then you would put in your new chip. Like I said, if you want to just do the BIOS update now, here is a link but try and get the latest version, this is just from googling: http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport...
January 8, 2012 3:25:21 AM