Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Please help me upgrade my home network.

Last response: in Wireless Networking
February 20, 2011 8:54:21 PM

I have some knowledge in computers but wireless networking is not my strong point.
A year or two ago my dad bought a Netgear WNR834B N wireless router http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168....

This was supposed to upgrade our current Linksys WRT54G v8 router http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168.... My dad could never figure it out, so in the attic it sat until now.

I have inconsistent internet connection in my room especially when my brother plays an online game similar to world of warcraft or I play xbox live.

I tried signing into my router multiple times before so I could change the NAT settings of moderate to open. By typing in the IP address into the address bar it would load half the graphics but would never fully load. Now it won't load at all.

My question is, what would be the best way to set these various things up so that I can connect upstairs in my room consistently?
Should I setup the N router specifically for myself and not have any other traffic on it? I heard that mixing old computers with N network capable, newer computers, slows it down to G. Can/should I connect the N router into the G router?

None of the computers in my house have a wired connection. I could borrow my brothers laptop though if I really need to set it up wired.

Thanks in advance any advice would be very much appreciated.

More about : upgrade home network

Best solution

February 20, 2011 9:37:20 PM

you should use a wired connection when configuring a router.

you said you could not get the Netgear to work, have you try to see if MAC Address cloning is being used on the Linksys? Some ISPs are looking for a certain MAC address which is registered with the account.

the ideal case would be the Netgear as the main router and the Linksys as a Bridge Repeater.