erly_Cuylers

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2011
this is my first build. Asus Mobo, AMD 965, 2X2GB Ram, ect.

this is just a general question about the HD bottleneck theory, because I replaced everything but the front panels, the case, the PSU, and the hard drive that came with the pc, which was a Compaq sr2180nx.

the first thing i noticed was there was no significant improvement in speed or performance especially when it came down to the CPU. the more i use the computer, the more it seems to be behaving the same way it did before the upgrade. system lag during cpu intensive tasks, same old habits, same old glitches.

I had read that a HD can effectively bottleneck a system, so i reluctantly decided to replace the HD. I'm getting a WD 500GB 7200RPM 6GB's 15MB cache Blue. it may not have been the optimum choice but it's already ordered.

I guess I'm just looking for that confirmation that "yes this should work" :sol:

so thanks a bunch, erly

Solution
Yeah, that will work fine, but I would highly recommend buying a SSD instead. Yes, they really do make THAT big of a difference. They can make an old laptop have new life too. Seriously.

steelbeast

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2011
Yeah, that will work fine, but I would highly recommend buying a SSD instead. Yes, they really do make THAT big of a difference. They can make an old laptop have new life too. Seriously.

Solution

suteck

Distinguished
The best way to boost performance is to increase your memory. 4 GB's ain't bad but can you go to 8? The more you can store on your memory the quicker the response since the cpu doesn't have to go the the hdd. What motherboard model do you have now? Asus what?.
I don't believe you will see a difference with the sata 6 GB/s unless you get an SSD, (I know I didn't), or you were getting close to 7/8ths full on your old hdd, which slows down performance.

erly_Cuylers

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2011