Video polygons

ronnie_vanor

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2011
Have a AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz Black Ed.
ASROCK N68-S3 UCC MBoard
4GB DDR2 1024 RAM
500W power ATX tower.
Am currently using XP SP3 DX11
and sad to say a ATA 160GB HDD MASTER (windows would not save desktop settings when using a 500GB SATA HDD MASTER).

When I play games like rFactor, Sacred II, and MSoft Flight SimX, I often get polygons flickering all over the screen.
I have dropped the games qualities down, but still happens after a while.
Have tried dropping the PCIE to 2x,4x,8x,etc. but runs the same as 16x.
Is my hardware having a compatibility problem ?
I am seriously thinking of upgrading my Mboard to use the same RAM and CPU with either
-NVIDIA nForce 980a SLI
-Asus Crosshair IV Formula
-Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
-Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD7.
Am also thinking of upgrading GPU to
Nvidia GT450 2GB DDR3 PCI-E 2.0 DX11

A little unsure as to what I should do...
I am a home recording musician, and I really stretch the processing power to achieve multi-track wave file and MIDI VST Plugins playback, record and render. The AMD, RAM and Mboard seems to handle the audio pretty well.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
TIA
Ronnie

you dont mention what gpu you currently have? it sounds like overheating to me. make sure you have adequate ventillation in your case, a couple of exhaust fans. is the power supply your using the one that came with the case? if it is its probably a cheap piece of crap and is dying under load.

4745454b

Titan
Thinking the same thing. Either the GPU or CPU is having a heat or power issue. Are you reusing an old "500W" PSU? I'm also interested in your "XP SP3 DX11" Not likely, but if you downloaded some fake XP from the net who knows what they did to make it say DX11. Might explain the stuff your seeing. I do consider heat/power more likely however. (most likely is dying card.)

ronnie_vanor

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2011

:hello: GPU is NVIDEA GeForce GTS450 1024MB GDDR5.