Sign in with
Your question

Advice on non-gaming graphics

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 11, 2011 2:40:50 AM

I am a mathematician/computer programmer working at an engineering firm and I recently built a computer for work and media with the parts listed below. I've been using the onboard graphics which are fine but I do want to get a discrete graphics card - I've only put off the purchase to this point because I've been unable to pick one. I'm looking for input as to which card I should get and how much quality/performance I can reasonably expect to get out of a discrete graphics card based on my computer usage.

Also, I've already purchased and assembled the computer detailed below, so while comments are welcome I cannot change any of the components.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: within a week
BUDGET RANGE: Preferably around $100 but up to $200
USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Programming (java, matlab, visual basic C++, LaTeX, etc), FEA/CAD, video editing, general media, and of course general office tasks like word processing and web browsing.

RELEVANT PC SPECS:
Intel Core i5 2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
G.Skill Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 1600
OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD
2 * Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB HDD (RAID1)
Corsair Professional Series 650W Modular PSU
Zalman Z9 Mid Tower Case
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit/Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA
PARTS PREFERENCES: No preference
OVERCLOCKING: Yes
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No
MONITOR RESOLUTION: I use a Vizio 22" LCDFHDTV (model VA22L) with 1920x1080 resolution
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I don't care at all about gaming.

More about : advice gaming graphics

a b U Graphics card
August 11, 2011 7:09:57 AM

Then you should get a workstation graphic card? I saw you in a previous thread I was in haha. Seeing how your budget is $100-200, your only decent choices are Quadro 580/600. I would go for the 600 because it has Directx11 and 3D;