Sign in with
Your question

New configuration to replace old platform

Last response: in Systems
October 11, 2011 7:09:57 PM

Hi all !

I've sold my current configuration to a friend which does office applications. It was still working fine, but since I had a buyer for this 4-year old configuration, I jumped on the opportunity to sell it.

My old rig was :

CPU : Core 2 Duo E8400 overclocked @ 3.6 GHz

RAM : G.Skill PI Black Edition PC2-6400 8 GB kit

Motherboard : Asus Maximus Formula First Generation

Case : CoolerMaster CM 690 First Generation

I sold it last week for 350 $ (which is a good price for 4-year old hardware I think).

As you can guess, I'm an enthusiast user. I'm currently studying in electronics and networking, so my PC is a learning tool as well as a workstation.

Here are the other components that I'm keeping :

Power Supply : Corsair HX 520

HDDs1 : 1xRAID 1 Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB

HDDs2 : 1xRAID 0 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (On which I run my virtual machines).

GPU : PowerColor Radeon HD4850 (I don't play a lot, it's mainly for BOINC research programs...)

CPU Cooler : Zalman CNPS9700

GPU Cooler : Zalman VF1000

SSD : Samsung Business 256 GB SSD (even If I give you the reference, it's not a consumer model, so there is almost no detail of it on the Internet).

Sound Card : Asus Xonar Essence STX PCI-Express x1 (plugged to a nice Onkyo TX-8255 and Polk Audio Monitor speakers :love:  ).

So I'm currently looking to buy a Sandy Bridge configuration as I don't have any other PC than my Asus UL30V ultraportable :D