Server/Client Setup issues.

ronnie301184

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2010
I'm requesting assistance on the early stage of an assignment, which I've tried to research myself for the last couple days, but I'm just not understanding what the issue is. I'm still a bit new to setting up servers so any help is appreciated.

Basically I'm trying to set up one laptop with Windows Server 03 to a client running Windows XP SP3. The server is connecting to my home router for internet access via wifi, and an ethernet cable is running directly from the server to the client. I've installed active directory, dns and dhcp on the server.

Theres a number of issues here:
1. When the ethernet port is disabled on the server, I have net connectivity, but when ethernet is enabled, I lose connectivity. I've changed the connection priority in the Advanced Settings of Network Connections and that still didn't work. Several restarts later and it seems to be working now, however my client no longer recognises the server as a dhcp provider.

2. As above, client not recognising dhcp provider and is auto-allocating itself an ip address. However earlier when it was being leased an ip by the dhcp, it had no internet connectivity.

3. Client is unable to locate or join my domain.

For the sake of providing more information and relevant labels, here are some details:
Domain: teamrmcv.net
Router IP: 192.168.0.1
Static IP for ethernet port on server: 192.168.0.6
Dynamic IP for wifi.
Gateway has been left blank for both NIC's.
Ethernet port on server's DNS: 127.0.0.1
DHCP Lease range: 192.168.0.10 to 192.168.0.254

I'm sure i'm forgetting some crucial detail but I can't think of what it is. If anymore info is needed, please let me know. I'm more eager to figure out why the problem is occurring rather than just fixing it, but the goal is to do both.

ronnie301184

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2010