Solved

1 8gb stick

Tags:
  • Asus
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
November 9, 2012 9:58:07 AM

Hey everyone, basically my problem is that I own an ASUS P5G41C-M LX,
and I bought 1 stick of 8gb 1333Hz Ripjaws RAM. my question is, can I use just one stick? Or do I actually have to use 2x 4gb sticks for it to show up when booting? Upgrading is out of the picture, this is my first build ever and it's incredibly incredibly tight budgeted and I already have all my parts.

Thanks in advance guys!

More about : 8gb stick

November 9, 2012 10:47:07 AM

You can totally just use 1 memory stick with no problems what so ever.
m
l

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
a b Ĉ ASUS
November 9, 2012 10:58:35 AM

^ While the system will run just fine, Depending on what applications are being used, performance may take a hit.

When only one stick of Ram is used your system will run in Single channel mode.
Theoretically that would Knock your ram performance down by up to 50%. Real terms maybe 15->25%.

Ram performance (Dual Channel)= Bus speed x Multiplier x 2 (DDR) x 2 (DDR2)
ie (IV) DDR2-1600 = 100 x 4 x2 x2 = 1600
Ram performance (Single Channel)= Bus speed x Multiplier x 2 (DDR)
ie DDR2-1600 = 100 x 4 x 2 = 800

Bottom Line - It is Not a problem, just ram operates at a lower equivalant speed.
For many applications (ie Internet, email, word) you would not see any diff, but for applications that rely on Ram performance such as a complex excel spreadsheet, photo editing, video encoding you would see slower performance. Not sure on games as Not a gamer.

Ram is only one factor in overall performance - CPU speed, Nr cores (only for apps that can use more than one core), Ram, Hard drive (HHD vs SSD) and GPU all factor into overall performance.
Related resources
November 9, 2012 12:54:03 PM

Wicked! Thanks heaps! I'm glad I don't have to exchange it because I'll be upgrading at christmas time so I don't wanna have smaller sticks for a better machine.