5 Second Reboot Cycle on New Build

BungleMeThis

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2012
Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting around here, although I've been hitting up TH for years via my Googly searches for the answers to life's electrical problems.

I've finally run into a problem that I can't figure out an answer to without asking for further help though. I'm building a new HTPC system from scratch. Currently, when I hit the power button the system fans spin for about 5 seconds then die off, then spin up for 5 seconds then die off... The cycle repeats.

Now let's see if I can recount what I've done and know so far:
- The system was booting fine into BIOS, for a while.
- I was having problems installing Windows; it gave me a strange error about not finding a necessary component (that seemed to normally happen to people who had accidentally deleted a partition important to the OS.)
- I tried some utilities found on "The Ultimate Bootup Disc". I can't recall exactly which utilities I used as I was in play mode at the time. They consisted of general system information tools for the most part though. One was a system stress test though, which brings me to the next point...
- The wires for the CPU fan were wrapped too tightly and prevented the fan from spinning. (Oops!! :whistle: )
- After the stress test, I attempted to install Windows using an external DVD drive. Upon doing this, the computer began to do the reset thing, towards the end of POST. From here the time to restart shrank until leveling out at around the 5 second mark. (The CPU fan was still stuck at this point. Clearly could be related...)

- At this point I finally opened up the case and started removing non-essential components, starting with the HDD's and optical drive. The symptoms did not change (and don't from here on out, unless noted).
- I tried each RAM module in every available socket. I also tried with no RAM installed at all.
- I tried booting with the CPU removed.