Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need help with picking a motherboard!

Last response: in Motherboards
November 10, 2012 5:55:38 AM

Hello, I'm kind of new to Tom's Hardware, I believe this is my 2nd post :p 

Anywho... I've got question between these motherboards... a few things I need to address:

1. I won't be overclocking EVER, I just don't see me doing it anytime soon or in the future.

2. I'm using this computer for both gaming and work
a) Games: (WoW, Arkham Asylum/City, Darksiders 2, Assassin's Creed, Trine 2, Left 4 Dead 2, Dota 2) and other possible future games
b) Work (Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects, Cinema 4D [possibly in the future: Vue, Sketchup and Premeire Pro]

3. I'm buying a computer from Cyberpowerpc, so I'm limited to what they offer, the 3 I listed below attracted me the most, they have good scores on Newegg. Well Gigabyte would be the exception since they only have 6 reviews.

-----

ASUS Sabertooth X79 (This thing really does look cool, and it has some nice cooling features, and I noticed a lot of people buying it when they are building their PC. I wish they had sound stuff that Asus Pro has "DTS Sound") (4/5 Newegg with 171 reviews)

ASUS P9X79 Pro (I think the reason why this attracted my attention in the first place was because it has DTS sound, which the Sabertooth doesn't, and it was cheaper then Asus P9X79 Deluxe, tho I can't really see myself using BT GO 2.0 I don't have a smartphone or a tablet... but then again if I ever do get one of does maybe it would be useful not exactly sure how it functions tho (I'm computer dumb :p ).) (4/5 Newegg with 83 reviews)

Gigabyte X79-UP4 (Well its cheaper then both the Asus I listed above, has some cool stuff tho I'm not sure I understand them... and some of the features sound similar to the features that Asus has... If you guys could explain to me each of the features that is offered to me in this product, I'd deeply appreciate that!) (5/5 Newegg with 6 reviews)

Thank you very much! :D