Noob Here Is a 6870 or 6950 for me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

moondeville

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2011
Heya folks. New guy here. Hows it?

So I'm preparing myself for Skyrim and Swtor. I built me a fair gaming machine a few months back. And I'm now getting around to replacing theis stand by graphics card. Here is my current setup.

AMD Phenom II X4 840 @ 3.2 w/ Cooler Master Hyper 212 and Haf 912 case
8 Gigs G.Skill Ripjaws
Asus m4a79xtd evo mobo
500 gig sata2 WD drive
Win 7 64 bit
PSU is a Antec truepowerr quattro 850 watt modular
Oh and a 8800 GTX 756mb lol.

So I game on a 22inch Acer monitor @ 1680x 1050 @ 60hz Mostly MMO's Fallout, Oblivion stuff like that.

I have only 240 to spend. And it's someone elses money. So I dont want to abuse that. So here is what I was thinking.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125385

Or am I just being wasteful? I mean I'm legally blind in 1 eye, The monitor is what it is untilChristmas or lottery happens. Or should I just grab a 6870 reference card and later ad a second? So if you can help please do!.

Moon

Solution

If it matters I have a 6950 on my system my specs are similiar to yours. I went ahaead and took a plunge and got a 6950 but i spent $250 on the 2gb edition because i got three screens and i love it. I can play all games very smoothly the only game i have trouble with is crysis 2 but that because im trying to do eyefinity with 3 screens with the directx11 and high res texture update but i still get about 20fps. with one screen on 1080P its so sexified :) and runs at 35-40 fps so its a very good card. I think it would be better...