Power Cable problems - laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

heaver

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2009
Hello,'
My name is Matheus and I'm pretty new to dealing with electrical stuff.
I spliced a couple a wires, soldered some things, play around a little bit in the past year or so.
Last week, my laptop's power adapter died (it had been staggering for the past couple of weeks so I saw something bad coming haha). I found today laying in my house another power supply (HP) laying around, but the connector was different from my VAIO. I was a little bit drunk at the moment (I'm even more right now) and i thought:
- I'm just gonna f*cking cut the wire from the good one, cut the wire from the bad one, solder the wires together putting the wire with the right connector into the good power adapter (they have the same voltage and amperage). Piece of Cake!!!!

So i cut the sony cable, ok
Then i went ahead and cut the hp one and to my surprise there were 3 brands of wires inside...3 different colors, while in the sony it was just 2...the positive and the negative one...

WTF DO I DOOOOO? lol

i thoguth about going into the chip of the good power adapter, desoldering those wires and putting the one with the right connector, but i figured theres must be a reason there were 3 brands there....Is my situation hopeless?
I'm by not means poor or anything, I could easily order another POS power adapter lol or buy one of those generic ones, whatever , but i really wanted to make things happen haha...now I'll drag myself to the bar to relieve the stress...

Thanks in advance,
Matheus

Solution
The 3 means there is a ground. Tie the ground (possibly the shield) to the negative wire and you should be good.