Sign in with
Your question

RAM "upgrade"issue

Tags:
Last response: in Memory
November 11, 2012 2:29:20 AM

Hello,

First off, i have attempted to research this topic extensively but have not really been able to come up with a concrete answer. I believe Ive listed all of the necessary details below...

I have a Toshiba Satelite L755-S5308 laptop thats about 1.5 years old. i5-2430M processor. Originally came with DDR3 1333 2x2 gb. I wanted to upgrade this to 8gb. I dont believe i was aware of the fact that RAM had different frequencies when i bought the upgrade, so i bought 2x4 ddr3 1066 sticks. Cheap G-Skill off newegg with tons of reviews, mostly great reviews. I kind of know what im doing but obviously im a noob for the most part. I swapped it out, system info now stated i had 8gb so i thought no more, mission accomplished....

I never went into the bios or anything and checked/adjusted settings.

My computer would randomly shut off. Sometimes no BSOD, just like someone cut the power in the house. It would immediately shut off without warning then turn itself back on and go to the incorrect shut down screen, I would start windows normally and then proceed as normal.

Now, at first, sometimes the comp would appear to freeze instead of shut down, with reddish vertical lines all over the screen, play a weird annoying sound and make me take out the power/battery to get it to shut off. This is how it started...this would happen rarely. This only happened at the beginning, with 10 or less occurrences. Now when it happens it just shuts off, no noise, just shuts off as if the power was cut as i mentioned and then reboots itself automatically just fine.