Single monitor overkill

ktryan

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2011
Ok, so I'm new to the idea of overkill when it comes to video cards. The last time I built a gaming system crysis 1 had just come out, and you wanted two of the top of the line cards to run it no matter your display setup was. Now it seems there's a line where gains are non existent on smaller format displays and cpu bottle necks to consider.

So single monitor @ 1920x1080, as that's all I can fit on my desk. Also taking cpu bottle necking into account I'll be using a Phenom II X4 980. Are any of the following options simply a waist of money?

2x 6950 2gb @ $530
2x GTX 560 ti @ $460
GTX 570 @ $320

And then there's the GTX 580 for same price as 2 GTX 560 ti, now I know that sli 560 ti are more powerful, but will I ever use that extra power with a single monitor? Single card solutions are quite frankly simpler the SLI and CF and they use a hell of a lot less power, but I don't want to be kicking myself when I can't run 'Game-o-the-year 2012'.

So single monitor @ 1080p, Phenom II X4 980, run anything currently on the market, always staying above 60 fps?

570, 580, 560 ti sli or 6950 cf? any solutions I haven't thought of that would work better for me?

P.s. Max graphics budget is $580.