Sign in with
Your question

Files becoming corrupt when being transferred

Last response: in Motherboards
November 11, 2012 5:54:02 PM

I built a new computer a few months ago and have had a consistent problem with writing files from my computer to an external device such as a USB drive or a USB external harddrive (and I have tried "safely removing hardware"). At first I thought it was a problem with my USB on my motherboard, but I have exchanged my motherboard 3 times over the past month and have had the same problem on all of them. I have a 120 GB Corsair Force 3 SSD that I have windows 7 loaded on, and whenever I write files from my SSD to a USB drive, the file gets corrupted and usually I won't even be able to open it. However, yesterday I noticed that I was also getting corrupt files when I uploaded pictures to imgur. So I started playing around with transferring files and I uploaded files to imgur from my internal SSD, my internal HDD, my external HDD, and a flash drive and all the files were corrupted during the upload. I also transferred files across every combination of those (like from my external hdd to my flashdrive), and ran into corrupt files each time. Does anyone know why this would be happening? This is driving my crazy since I can't "productively" use my computer because I can't get any files off of it. My BIOS for my motherboard is up to date, and I have installed all the latest drivers as well as all the Windows 7 updates. I have also reformatted my computer 4 or 5 times to try and fix the problem. My specs are below. Thanks!

Windows 7 64 bit
ASRock Pro 3
i5-3570K
Corsair Force SSD 120GB Sata 3(Win7 installed on this drive)
G.Skill DDR3-2133
a c 162 V Motherboard
November 11, 2012 6:18:56 PM

Sounds like a Virus/worm to me.
November 11, 2012 6:33:40 PM

I'm running on a fresh install of Windows 7 right now. And I have reformatted a few times over the past month and the problem never went away.
Related resources
a c 162 V Motherboard