Sign in with
Your question

Extremely loud noise when testing Creative 5.1 speakers

Last response: in Components
January 16, 2012 11:54:07 AM

I have been using my Creative speakers and soundcard since Feb 2003. Yes they are about 9 years old already but still in very good condition. This is the 3rd computer I'm using them. Specifications listed below:

Creative Inspire 5200 5.1 Speakers
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 SE (PCI slot)

Yesterday I changed the PSU and mobo/intel CPU because my old computer refused to POST and could be due to failing PSU and mobo/intel CPU. I re-installed the sound card and used the Creative Surround Mixer to test the 5.1 speakers one by one in this order : front left, centre, front right, rear left, rear right.

The problem is when one speaker is being tested, one of the remaining speakers will emit an extremely loud noise (either buzzing or hissing or high pitch sound). The speaker being tested will produce the correct sound but at the same time one of the other speakers produce an extremely loud noise which overshadows the sound of the speaker being tested. So when the speakers are tested one by one, the other speakers take turns to produce the extremely loud buzzing or hissing or high pitch noise. eg when the front left is being tested, the centre speaker will emit an extremely loud buzzing. when the centre speaker is being tested, the rear left speaker will emit an extremely loud high pitch noise. There is no consistent pattern in the order which the other speakers emit the loud noise or type of noise.

The good thing is the speakers work all right (no extremely loud buzzing or hissing or high pitch noise) when I'm playing music or watching movies using Windows Media Player.

Any suggestions what is happening? I regularly use the testing feature to make sure all my speakers are working all right. Now I can't test at all.