Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Speaker and sound card set up

Last response: in Components
January 18, 2012 12:41:17 AM

Hi! I'm putting together a $2,500+ gaming/general use rig which I plan to purchase this month or early next month. My budget for the sound system is $500

This being said, I'm also very new at everything and have been making a point of lurking this forum for quite sometime. I'm pretty confident on my PC set up but I still don't know much about sound cards and how they play into speakers and how they will effect my gaming and music experience.

So basically I want a system that will sound good loud, and bass is very important. I'm not sure if surround sound will be useful or not; maybe someone can elaborate on that. Also, what does a sound card do and would I need it?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

More about : speaker sound card set

a b 4 Gaming
January 18, 2012 2:52:02 AM

My opinion is if you buy a decent set of speakers $150+ = you'll want a soundcard.
The problem with onboard sound is the S/N ratio is too low = well under 85db(75db for most) and too much background system noise and distortion.
Every +3db of S/N ratio effectively doubles volume output.
Aftermarket soundcards are usually 102db+ S/N ratio with a significant reduction in noise and distortion.
Score
a b 4 Gaming
January 18, 2012 4:30:27 PM

The big question is if you want to use speakers or headphones. If you go the speaker route, RCA or TRS. Stereo or Surround. Etc.

What you decide to use can have a major impact on the soundcard you would want. For most people, teh ASUS Xonar DX is right in line with price/performance, but with high quality RCA speakers, the ASUS Essence ST/STX might be a more attractive option. If you have high impedance headphones, a card with an amp becomes a priority.
Score
Related resources
January 19, 2012 2:52:06 AM