Sign in with
Your question

CPU compatibility? (Im a totaly noob at this)

Last response: in Systems
October 19, 2011 11:02:58 AM

Hi all.

Ok. Im looking to upgrade my CPU from an Intel core 2 duo to maybe an AMD phenom x4 9850.
I was wondering if anyone could tell me if the AMD one is compatible with my motherboard. Its an ASUS P5QL/EPU iP43

Iv not replaced components myself before, nor am im a clued up on parts, so Im not 100% sure on compatibility of things :o s

I don't have a huge budget (£60-90 max), so basically need something that is better than what I already have, which is compatible with the other parts I have, and will support light gaming. (if I can game with the cpu I have now, Im assuming a quad or x4 will be better in general?)

OS is windows 7 64bit
Graphics card is a Radeon HD 5750
Ram is 4GB DDR2 1066MHz (getting 2gb more next month)

Thank you in advance for your help :o )
October 19, 2011 11:15:14 AM

Compatible Processors: Celeron , Celeron 400 sequence , Core 2 Duo , Core 2 Extreme , Core 2 Quad , Pentium , Pentium 4 , Pentium D
October 19, 2011 11:20:18 AM

Aaah ok :o /
Do you have any ideas of a better compatible CPU in my price range? Its doing my head in trying to work out what Im looking for :??:  Difficult when you dont have a clue about these things
Related resources
October 19, 2011 11:27:52 AM

What do you do? Do you use programs and/or games that utilize quad core? Also precisely what chip do you have at the moment?
October 19, 2011 11:32:25 AM

Its basically for games to be honest.
I'v started getting client lag with a couple of games, and the computer does that horrid 'thinking' noise. Been told I should upgrade the processor and it should work a hell of a lot better.
Did a check on the 'can I run this' site for the main game I play (APB:R) and I passed everything for the recommended hardware, apart from the processor.
October 19, 2011 11:37:52 AM