Sign in with
Your question

2500k vs. 2600k? Budget around $1500.

Last response: in Systems
October 19, 2011 1:12:48 PM

This is my first time building a desktop

Approximate Purchase Date: Before mid January

Budget Range: $1500

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, watching movies, design and video editing (for fun).

Parts Not Required: Mouse, Speakers, keyboard

Country of Origin: Shanghai, China
Price is probably cheaper than America

Monitor: Samsung 27" LED S27A350H- $300
Monitor Resolution: 1920x1200

Case: Need Advice. I want simple design, excellent cooling. BUDGET- $120
Fan- Need Advice

Graphics Card: Asus Radeon HD6950 1GB- $275 / Asus GTX560 Ti 1G DDR5- $265 / Asus Radeon HD6950 2G- $350 (is it too much?)

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K-$250 or i7 2600k-$340? (I'm leaning toward i5-2500k, is it going to be a huge difference?)

Mother Board: P8Z68-V Pro- $250

PSU: CoolerMaster 650W- $62 (Is it enough?)

CPU cooling: Do I need one?

HDD: WD1002FAEX 64M 1TB SATA3- $85

RAM: Kingston DDR3 1600 4G x3- $95

CD/DVD ROM: Blue Ray Reader- $47

SLI: Need Advice

Would I need Thermal Paste? Is my build good enough to overclock? What is SLI and SDD, do I need them?

Im sorry about all these loaded questions, I sincerely appreciate all your time.

Eric
October 19, 2011 1:22:15 PM

New tech's coming up early next next year. So if early Jan's what you're looking at, might as well hold on a bit longer and check out the reviews before pulling the trigger.
October 19, 2011 1:23:10 PM

Case - Any mid/full tower case in your price range should be more than acceptable. Just go for something you like the look of and have a quick Google for some reviews if your unsure. FRACTAL are a great manufacturer for "simple design" cases, and they are very high quality with good cooling.

CPU - Stick with the i5-2500k, it will allow you to spend the money saved from i7-2600k to be spent elsewhere on other important components.