Vlad ProDAN

Honorable
Oct 22, 2012
Hi guys, just let me know which of these two options would perform better in every scenario you can think of, ty ( im a gamer/ video editor)

1. 3770K + p8Z77-v Deluxe
2. 3770k + Maximus V formula
3. 3820 +p9x79pro ( this would give me pathway to ivy bridge E and the 3820 can clock as high as 4.7Ghz, i have a h100i so temperature is not that big of a deal)

rene13cross

Honorable
Apr 2, 2012
Well the x79 system will definitely outperform the other platforms as it is geared towards enthusiasts and especially excels in areas such as video rendering, editing, and all sorts of processing intensive tasks like that.

The average consumer/gamer does not need a desktop on the x79 platform as they will see no benefit but if you do a lot of video editing as you mentioned it would be worth it, especially considering that all those options you listed are close in price anyways. The x79 is very future proof aswell as it offers quad channel memory and LOTS of PCIe lanes.

suddenstop

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2007
I'll offer the opposing viewpoint. The z77 motherboards with pcie3.0 and plx chip have plenty of lanes. Ivy is available on z77 but not 79 as well.

If you are gaming and even medium video editing etc I would get z77.

If you are heavy duty editing, I'd get 79, with the consideration that you may need new CPU when ivy-e comes out. Or if money is no object then 79.

Intels next tick will use new socket. Ivy was disappointing from a performance perspective.