Sign in with
Your question

PSU Watt Question

Last response: in Components
January 20, 2012 10:40:03 AM

Hey, I've recently bought a custom pc from a custom pc supplier and it was just shipped today. I'm new to the pc gaming community and this is my first gaming pc. I'm anxious about whether the 650 watt power supply will power all these components with ease. I'm very unsure so if someone can tell me if the PSU is good enough, or whats good and such?

My specs are:
Processor: Intel Quad Core i5-2500
RAM: 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Motherboard: Asus P8Z68-V-LX (the supplier told me that this board doesn't support the GPUs I got so he gave me a free upgrade to a board that does, I just noted down this motherboard assuming there isn't much difference to the one he's put in. He didn't specify the name of the new board.)
Graphics Card: Dual SLI nVidia 1GB GTX 550
Optical Drive: 22x Dual Layer DVD Rewriter
Processor Cooling Fan: Aywun RADI A1-V4
Power Supply: Widetech 650W

A reply will be strongly appreciated, thanks very much!!

More about : psu watt question

January 20, 2012 10:48:54 AM

Hey, I wouldn't be surprised if you ran into some problems down the line, even without the SLI i would recommend at least 750w.
m
l
January 20, 2012 10:53:21 AM

silverliquicity said:
Hey, I wouldn't be surprised if you ran into some problems down the line, even without the SLI i would recommend at least 750w.

How long down the line are you speaking about? And what kind of problems could I run into?
I'd really rather not get a new PSU installed the moment it arrives but If I have to, I will.
m
l
Related resources
a c 243 ) Power supply
January 20, 2012 10:53:29 AM

Sigh
650 watts is more than sufficient for the OP's build.
A "Widetech" psu ? That's like a hunting decoy, looks like the real thing, just don't try and eat it.
m
l
a b ) Power supply
January 20, 2012 10:55:29 AM

Hi :) 

A 650 is fine...

All the best Brett :) 
m
l
January 20, 2012 11:02:02 AM

delluser1 said:
Sigh