PSU Watt Question

Connoor

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
Hey, I've recently bought a custom pc from a custom pc supplier and it was just shipped today. I'm new to the pc gaming community and this is my first gaming pc. I'm anxious about whether the 650 watt power supply will power all these components with ease. I'm very unsure so if someone can tell me if the PSU is good enough, or whats good and such?

My specs are:
Processor: Intel Quad Core i5-2500
RAM: 16GB (4 x 4GB)
Motherboard: Asus P8Z68-V-LX (the supplier told me that this board doesn't support the GPUs I got so he gave me a free upgrade to a board that does, I just noted down this motherboard assuming there isn't much difference to the one he's put in. He didn't specify the name of the new board.)
Graphics Card: Dual SLI nVidia 1GB GTX 550
Optical Drive: 22x Dual Layer DVD Rewriter
Processor Cooling Fan: Aywun RADI A1-V4
Power Supply: Widetech 650W

A reply will be strongly appreciated, thanks very much!!

Connoor

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012

How long down the line are you speaking about? And what kind of problems could I run into?
I'd really rather not get a new PSU installed the moment it arrives but If I have to, I will.

Connoor

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012

Thanks for your answer, although I didn't understand your last sentence.

Connoor

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012

Okay, I'm a little sceptical because why would a company sell a 650watt PSU knowingly its not as good as a 350watt? And what do you think is a good amount of watts for a PSU for this system?

drwho1

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2010

Like others, I wouldn't trust the power supply from a Mickey Mouse brand (or a brand that I never heard of)

The other thing that is bugging me is the motherboard "upgrade" without a confirmation that you are actually getting an upgrade.
That's a really screw-move from your supplier.