mightyme

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
I tried installing a corsair gs600 into my pc. Description of the psu said it was compatable with my mobo so i plugged everything in. turned it on and within a second crack, fizzle, pop! I'm just curious what would have caused this since i belive i plugged everything in correctly. I mean, i plugged everything into where the old powersupply was plugged in and didnt force anything. One thing that did come off odd was that there was no atx 4 pin. Instead the new psu had a pci-e. I read about it and it said the 8pin would be compatable with the 4pin. The psu was connected to a surge protector and nothing else blew. Now i'm afraid to ever upgrade anything in a pc again. Mobo is gone for sure, not sure what else. probably just start over from scratch. I know i'm a rookie at this stuff and i probably shouldnt be messing with things i dont quite get but i figured how else do you learn? If anyone could help me understand what i did wrong i would greatly appreciate it.

That's because it has a 4+4
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/connectors.html#eps4plus4

You didn't use the 6+2 pin , did you ?
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/connectors.html#pciexpress6plus2

mightyme

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
Yeah i used the 6+2 pin. The model had 2 of the 6+2 and no 4+4. Is that what did it? If so then why the heck would it say its compatable with my system?

Thank you for the response btw.

The 6+2 is for a PCI-E video card, not a motherboard.

I find it hard to believe it fit though, I mean why would they make is so people CAN plug it in wrong?

Either way, you can send in your psu for warranty replacement. Pray your motherboard and cpu aren't damaged.

larkspur

Distinguished