Sign in with
Your question

So, I'm a bit behind the time..

Last response: in Systems
October 20, 2011 10:55:57 PM

So basically, a few years back in school i took a lesson which taught me to create PC's and both before that & since then i have been pretty much self-taught with anything regarding PC's.

Basically, i am interested in rebuilding my PC with a new motherboard, and hopefully upgrading a few components on the way, although since its been around a year or 2 since i upgraded i am a little behind the time on the components. Therefore, i was hoping people could give me some recommendations on what i should keep and what deserves to be upgrading regarding my current specifications;

Manufacturer:
PACKARD BELL BV
Processor:
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 B55 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory:
10240MB RAM
Hard Drive:
1 TB
Video Card:
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
Monitor:
Samsung SyncMaster 2333HD 32"
Sound Card:
5.1 Hercules Surround Sound
Speakers/Headphones:
Sennheiser HD 205
Keyboard:
Logitech K120
Mouse:
Razer Diamondback 3G
Mouse Surface:
Razer eXactMat X Speed
Operating System:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Motherboard:
Asus M4a78LT-M
Computer Case:
Extra Large

I was just wondering what people think would be best to upgrade, and what is not needed to upgrade. Thanks, Tom.

More about : bit time

October 20, 2011 11:09:10 PM

Is your case a standard ATX? I know a lot of manufacturers like Dell, HP, PB, and so on cut corners by using a lot of proprietary and watered down components. The inside of my brother's old Dell (2003 - 2004 model) looks like something out of an old MC Escher painting. :lol: 

You might want to post a picture of the case so that way we can get a good idea of what we can and cannot replace.