Sign in with
Your question

Hardware questions

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Hardware
Last response: in CPUs
January 21, 2012 4:49:06 PM

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new with Computers and I want to buy all my parts so a friend can build it for me.

I just have some questions i'd like to ask before i buy anything, hopefully you guys can give me some answers:

1. What is the point in having 2 video cards?
2. What does an intercooler do? Is it the same thing as having a cooling case? and is it worth it to buy any of these?
3. What is a good amount of fans to have in a computer to make sure everything stays smooth?

More about : hardware questions

a b à CPUs
January 21, 2012 5:10:46 PM

spanKie10 said:
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new with Computers and I want to buy all my parts so a friend can build it for me.

I just have some questions i'd like to ask before i buy anything, hopefully you guys can give me some answers:

1. What is the point in having 2 video cards?
2. What does an intercooler do? Is it the same thing as having a cooling case? and is it worth it to buy any of these?
3. What is a good amount of fans to have in a computer to make sure everything stays smooth?

1. two is more powerful than one
2. an intercooler is something that comes after the turbocharger and before the intake to cool the air before it enters an engine - I have never heard this term being used with PCs
3. two fans in the case (intake and exhaust) will usually suffice
m
l
January 21, 2012 10:14:17 PM

having two graphics cards allows for multiple monitors OR if linked in crossfire or SLI, up to double the power. (if a more powerful graphics cards costs too much, with sli or xfire, u can buy second later) just make sure the mobo supports it
m
l
Related resources
September 8, 2013 7:57:38 AM