BF3 upgrade. Crossfire HD 5850?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dlong

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2009
Hello,

Im looking to upgrade my comp for BF3. I have a HD 5850, i5 cpu with 4 gb of ram.

Im having trouble deciding whether I should crossfire my HD 5850 or wait for new video card releases.
At the moment, HD 5850s are hard to find. New ones go for 250-320, and used ones on eBay go for about 130-230.

So I guess my question is,

Is the performance increase of Cross-firing two HD 5850s worth the price at this point in time? or are there better options?

I am a low-budget college student btw :/

Thanks

-LongD

Solution

Not a particularly good idea. That would be 3-way Crossfire which really doesn't scale particularly well on, especially on cards before the current HD6000 series. Also the GPUs in the HD5970 would be limited down to the number of shaders present in the HD5850 for it to even work. This setup probably wouldn't be too much more effective than a single HD5970 and there are better choices for the money than buying the HD5970 at this point.

celpas

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2010
Wait for its release.A single 5850 maxes out the game easiliy indx 11.Here are some benchmarks of the alpha trial at max settings at 1080p
img.php

Yeah, I would wait for the final release of the game as well as you very well might not feel the need for an upgrade.
Have you overclocked the HD5850? If you have a model with voltage control they can often overclock a truly large amount which could be a nice free upgrade by itself.

BBC3 is supposed to tax video cards more than BBC2. I have a 1gig 5850. It sits idle because it can't keep up with even some older "demanding" games. Won't play BBC2 smoothly for a hill of beans. Way too much going. I wouldn't waste my money on another one. If you game above 1600 and wish to have reasonably higher settings it's time to switch over to a 2gig card. Cross firing will still only give you 1gig.

dlong

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2009
@Swifty_morgan