Help with getting HD from PC to TV

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 22, 2011 2:42:58 PM

Hi all,
I'm new to HD and getting HD signals TVs and what not. Here is my Setup:

Mobo: M4A785-M
CPU: AMD Phenom II

TV: Samsung 51" 450 Plasma 720p and 1080i

Now, the mobo says I can get a full 1080p signal (so I should be able to get a 720p or 1080i no problem) through the HDMI connection.

Well I connect it to the TV's HDMI and I get a full screen picture, but it definetly does NOT look HD, and the best resolution and i'm getting on the desktop is 1360x768 If I change it to anything higher the desktop is bigger then the screen and the graphics look even worse.
I have the latest drivers and software for the onboard video the mobo has, it's justing Radeon Graphics AMD Vision Control Center.

I'd like to get a full HD picture and make the desktop smaller but still a good guality HD picture so that I can multitask.... my regular monitor is a 20" LCD and I can see 2x's the amount of items on the desktop then on this massive TV.

Thanks for the help everyone!

More about : question

a c 147 U Graphics card
a b x TV
August 22, 2011 3:20:16 PM

That TV is not 1080, the resolution on it is 1,280 x 720, which is 720p. It may work with a 1080i signal OK, but does not display 1080 lines.

The reason it looks unlike full HD is that 51" is pretty big for really good quality at 720p, 720 tends to start looking less and less like HD past 37". Your 20" LCD is probably higher resolution than the TV.

If you want to use such a large monitor and get a more HD looking image, you need to get a 1080 resolution screen.
August 22, 2011 4:02:32 PM

ok, lets just call everything 720p....the 720p image from my Dish is crystal clear, but when I try to watch the same 720p image from the PC, it looks like crap.

Why is that?
Related resources
a c 147 U Graphics card
a b x TV
August 22, 2011 4:08:58 PM