Your question

Question about choosing graphic cards

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
October 21, 2011 8:12:41 PM

Hello.

I want to ask for help about a new build.

First of all, I'm a student in college and I plan to use this computer to mainly learn how to use Maya, 3DS Max, Zbrush, Adobe products (mainly premiere pro, after effects, flash, illustrator, photoshop.), Animation Master, and some other video and photo editing software. I will not play any intensive games on the new build, probably just some online games from addictinggames and miniclip etc.

I researched online for quite a bit and I'm stuck between a workstation graphic card like quadro and FirePro, and a higher end gaming card like GTX 560 or Radeon 6950/6970. If I'm just learning to use the 3D-apps, will there be a need for me to get a workstation card? I know they will perform alot better than gaming cards on those apps but I'm not doing this for earning money, but just to learn how to use the programs. Would a higher-end gaming suffice for my needs or do I have to go for a workstation card that is way more overly priced?

Another question I have is about the processor. Due to budgeting reasons, I am thinking about a i5-2500 because I don't plan to overclock either, so I'm not getting the k version. I understand that more cores would benefit me assuming the program can take advantage of that but I was recommended an intel sandy bridge i5/7 processor over the AMD X6 because the intels had more "potential". Would getting the cheaper AMD 6-core benefit me more than the intel i5/7 quad-cores for using the programs I mentioned above? I'm not looking at the 6 cores from intel because they are over my ideal budget.