Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Be upfront - 32bit or 64bit CPU

Last response: in Motherboards
November 22, 2012 11:36:58 PM

Hello,
Why don't CPU & Mobo manufacturers label their products up front and in plain language it they are 32bit or 64bit architecture?
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
November 23, 2012 12:22:45 AM

All current cpu's are 64bit (supporting 32bit as well)
a c 89 à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
November 23, 2012 12:59:51 AM

What kitsune said. Unless you REALLY want to buy a piece of ancient hardware, you have nothing to worry about.
Related resources
November 23, 2012 1:07:58 AM

kitsunestarwind said:
All current cpu's are 64bit (supporting 32bit as well)

Okay, I'll accept that. However, I've been working CPU's/Mobo's for 20 years - how do you define "current"?
Also, that being said. Why don't they mark them, again "upfront", what they are? If it's a 64 be proud of it and say it. If it is just an 'old true-blue 32", suck it up and admit it. I hate MARKETING! Always their first instinct is to mislead.

I appreciate your reply and I'm not griping at you, just using you as a sounding board. Maybe some marketing guru at Intel or other manufacturing company will read this (not that they would pay the least bit of attention).

-=(Rich_am)=-
a c 162 à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
November 23, 2012 1:14:02 AM

Numbers confuse people, your average consumer isn't bright. Once you start adding another label to it you are just going to confuse people even more. AMD CPUs have been 64 bit since the Athlon64 era, Intel Desktop CPUs have been 64 since the Prescott era of P4's in 2004, so i think current is fair.