Sign in with
Your question
Closed

~$1000 AMD Gaming Build

Last response: in Systems
October 22, 2011 8:48:04 PM

I haven't built a computer in ages...so I would consider myself a noob even though my job entails that I work on computers for a living.
Trying to build a(n) (energy/cost-)efficient gaming rig preferably within $1000. Instead of going for the high-end parts this time around, I would like to build a rig that is the most "bang for its buck" and I am willing to upgrade/downgrade per suggestion. Also first time since Athlon II that I'm straying away from Intel so your input please :o 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Approximate Purchase Date: Within this month

Budget Range: Approximately $1000; could go beyond that but trying to build one that is cost-efficient as well

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Home theater, Video/Audio recording/editing, typical usage.

Parts Not Required: Will need pretty much everything; can skimp out on OS and just stick with Ubuntu

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com or a cheaper (reliable) site that's available

Country of Origin: US
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Parts Preferences: Here are a couple of parts I looked at, all tentative and subject to change
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX\\Willing to swap out for X4 if needed
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard \\Processor/Mobo Combo Deal: $351.98